Thread: Electricians of CMC- whole house surge protector

Registered User CMC 302 way2qk4u2c's Avatar

Default Electricians of CMC- whole house surge protector

I'm pretty good with electric and how it works but i'm no professional. I have been getting mixed opinions from users and professionals on whole house surge protectors. My questions are as follows:

1. My understanding is whole house surge protector goes on your circuit panel to prevent surges entering your home such as lightning. Do you still need individual surge protectors on your items such as Tv's, receiver's, appliance's and etc...or is the 1 surge protector on the circuit panel enough?

2. Which whole house surge protector do you recommend and have used?

3. Is there different ways of installing a whole house surge protector?

My theory is you need both because one prevents entering the house while the individual one prevents localized surges such as devices turning on and off like a vacuum or ac unit.

Some say the one by the circuit panel will prevent localized surges which i don't see how that is possible? Does anyone know exactly what the right answer is?

2011 Mustang GT 5.0
    2006 F-150 FX4
    2008 CBR1000RR

Senior Member CMC Boss429 Hotrodder's Avatar

Well I am a commercial electrical designer (engineer without an engineering degree) so I'm not 100% certain about residential things but in general surge protectors serve two purposes. They handle surges to protect your panel board in the even of a large surge. So your panel will not trip, blow up, catch fire, etc. that's their primary function.

A secondary function is that they can "clean up" the incoming power. Utility power is very "dirty" in the sense that the voltage spikes and dips and can cause stress on your equipment. Cleaning that power up means it is steadier and less stressful with spikes and dips.